2019 Chiropractic Physician of the Year Award

2019 Chiropractic Physician of the Year Award

Each year, the Illinois Chiropractic Society names an Illinois’ chiropractic physician “Chiropractic Physician of the Year.” Nominations for this prestigious award come from ICS members and their staff. Recipients of the Chiropractic Physician of the Year award are physicians who “go above and beyond” for their local community and the chiropractic profession.

The Recipient Is…

This year’s recipient is Dr. Timothy Bertelsman, DC, CCSP, DACO, a full-time practitioner in Swansea, Illinois.  Dr. Bertelsman was selected for his dedication and commitment to his patients and the profession.

Following his graduation from Logan Chiropractic College in 1994, Dr. Bertelsman demonstrated a strong commitment to advanced education by becoming both a Certified Chiropractic Sports Physician (CCSP) and a Diplomate with the Academy of Chiropractic Orthopedists (DACO).

Dr. Bertelsman has been a member of the ICS since 1992. He began serving on the ICS board in 2008 as the Southern District President, continuing his contribution in various board positions and culminating as the President of the Board of Directors in 2017 and 2018. He is currently serving on the Board of Directors as Immediate Past President.

Continuing to advance and educate the profession in a variety of capacities, Dr. Bertlesman has written articles for several state chiropractic associations, including Illinois, Georgia, Kentucky, and Montana. He has also written for several national publications, including Chiropractic Economics. Dr. Bertelsman has presented for Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Florida, Missouri, South Carolina, Wisconsin, Tennessee, Connecticut, Louisiana, Nebraska, Colorado, Nevada, New York, Texas, Ohio, and Alaska state associations. He has also presented for many other chiropractic colleges and diplomate programs.

As a co-founder of Chiro-Up, an online resource for chiropractic physicians, Dr. Bertelsman continues to educate and enhance the profession daily. He is also a member of the American Chiropractic Association and the American Back Society.

Please join us in extending our sincere congratulations and thanks to Dr. Bertelsman for his continuing dedication and service!

About Author

ICS Staff

The Illinois Chiropractic Society staff works collaboratively on many topics to bring the most comprehensive and relevant information to our members. We have over 60 years of chiropractic experience and understand the heartbeat of the profession. We all look forward to providing relevant information to our members for years to come.

Recent Videos


Corporate Club


Article Categories